New National Women’s Committee Elected

Delegates to the Women’s Conference have elected a new executive board of the National Women’s Committee which is mainly a retention of the past executive save for one new committee member.

In a tightly contested but exuberant election, Maureen Mwanangweshi retained her position as Chairperson; Christabel Bwalya also defended her position of deputy vice Chairperson. Majory Mutale was re-elected as Vice Secretary; whle Sylvia Mwansa stayed as treasurer.

For the three positions of committee members, Hellen Mkandwire is the only new face; whereas as Lucy Senti and Monde Mulenga has bounced back to provide the experience needed.

The new committee has an immediate task of ensuring that the women of ZUFIAW become more organised and actively participate in activities.

The election was conducted on Wednesday, December 21 in Livingstone where the 12th ZUFIAW Quadrennial Conference is taking place.


216 total views, 2 views today